Djokovic Crowned Laureus Sportsman of the Year


Novak Djokovic has been chosen as the Laureus World Sportsman Of The Year 2015. The award ceremony took place in Shanghai, China. British actor Bennedict Cumberbatch hosted the prestigious event.

Novak Djokovic beat the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo (Football), Lewis Hamilton (F1 Racing), Rory Mcllroy (Golf), Marc Marquez (Motorcycling) and Renaud Levillenie (Athletics).

The Serbian is now a two-time Laureus Sportsman Of The Year award winner. His last award was in 2012.

Ethiopian athlete Genzebe Dibaba won the Laureus Sportswoman Of The Year 2015. She broke 3 records in two weeks which lasted from 1-15th of February, 2014 which contributed to her achievement. The nominees for the accolade included Serena Williams (Tennis), Li Na (Tennis), Valerie Adams (Atheletics), Marit Bjorgen (Skiing) and Tina Maze (Skiing).

Daniel Ricchardo won the Laureus Breakthrough Of The Year Award. The Red Bull team driver won three Grand Prix races in his debut year after replacing Mark Webber. Nominations for the award included German and Bayern Munich midfielder Mario Gotze, Columbian star James Rodriguez, Marin Cillic (Tennis).

German Football Team won the Laureus Team Of The Year Award for their triumph in last year’s triumph in Brazil.

Li Na was chosen for the accolade of Laureus Exceptional Achievement Award in front of Chinese crowd.

Chinese basketballer Yang Mao and Indian cricketing legend Sachin Tendulkar were included in the Laureus Hall Of Fame.

Google executive, Alan Eustace got his hands on the Laureus World Action Sportsman Of The Year award. He beat the free-falling record set by Felix Baumgertner. He descended 135, 889 feet which had a duration of 15 minutes.

South African rugby star Schalk Burger returned to the International Rugby scene after recovering from a life-threatening bacterial meningitis. For this feat, he won the Laureus Comeback Of The Year award.

American wheelchair favourite athlete Tatyana McFadden won the World Sportsman Of The Year With A Disability Award this year for her participation in the grand slam marathon.

You might also like