Hazard, Kane Shine at PFA Awards


Eden Hazard and Harry Kane shine as they grab the PFA award for Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year award at the coveted ceremony of the PFA Awards being held at the Grosevelt Hotel, London.

Hazard,24 has been involved in 21 goals in 33 matches in the Barclays Premier League, scoring 13 and assisting eight in the process.  He had been awarded PFA Young Player of the Year last year.

The Belgian international expressed his gratitude in very humble words. He said, “I’m very happy. One day I want to be the best and what I did this season is play very well, Chelsea played very well.”

“ I don’t know if I deserve to win but it is good for me. It is better to be voted by the players – they know everything about football,” he added.

Harry Kane, grabbed the PFA Young Player of the Award. He has scored 30 goals in all competitions for Maurico Pochettino’s side this season and also scored on his England debut at Wembley against Lithuania in March.

Kane, 21 after receiving the award said, “ It’s amazing. It’s a very proud moment for me and my family – hopefully the first of many to come.

“ I have got to keep working hard, but to be recognized by your fellow players is something special and it is a night I won’t forget,” he added.

The PFA Team of the Year This Season:

David De Gea (Manchester United) –GK

Ryan Bertrand (Southampton) – LB

John Terry (Chelsea) – CB

Gary Cahill (Chelsea)- CB

Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea)- RB

Nemanja Matic (Chelsea) – MID

Eden Hazard (Chelsea) – MID

Phillipe Coutinho (Liverpool)  – MID

Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal) – MID

Harry Kane (Tottenham) – ST

Diego Costa (Chelsea) – ST

In the Women’s category, Chelsea midfielder Ji- So Yun won the PFA Women’s Player of the Year Award, whilst the PFA Young Player of the Year award went to Arsenal’s 18-year old midfielder Leah Williamson.